Hadi Sirika, Minister of Aviation has on Wednesday disclosed that domestic flights at the Murtala Mohammed Airport, Lagos, and Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport, Abuja would resume on July 8, 2020. The minister in a tweet said the Lagos and Abuja airports will be the first to commence operations and other airports including Kano, Owerri, Port Harcourt, and Maiduguri to follow on July 11, 2020.

"I am glad to announce that Abuja & Lagos airports will resume domestic operations on the 8th of July, 2020. Kano, Port Harcourt, Owerri & Maiduguri to resume on the 11th. Other airports on the 15th. The date for international to be announced in due course. Bear with us," Sirika said.

Vigil360 reports that Lagos and Abuja airports conducted a dry run exercise to ascertain the readiness of the airports in line with the COVID-19 safety guidelines.