Top Stories

The Federal Government of Nigeria has announced committees in all 36 states and the FCT for its planned creation of 774,000 jobs across the federation. In October 2019, President MuhammaduBuhari, approved a Pilot Special Public Works Programme in the rural areas, domiciled in the National Directorate of Employment (NDE) for implementation, which aims at employing 1,000 persons from each of the 774 Local Government Areas.

The pilot programme earlier approved by Mr President was designed to improve job opportunities in the rural areas through a short-term engagement of the one thousand unemployed persons per Local Government Area for a period of three months.

In line with Section 16(1) of the N.D.E Act, the special committees in each state of the federation have been set up for the purpose of deliberating, selecting and recommending the names of the 1,000 persons.

The Special Public Works in the Rural Areas is an employment- intensive technique acquired and adapted by the NDE from one of the capacity-building collaborations with the International labour organisation (ILO) in the late 1980s to the middle of the 1990s.

The initiative is expected to begin on October 1 and each beneficiary will earn N20,000 monthly allowance to carry out public works.

The National Assembly joint Committees on Labour had invited the Minister of State, Labour and Productivity, Festus Keyamo, to brief them on the recruitment exercise.

Keyamo told the lawmakers that a 20-man selection committee had been constituted in each state of the federation.

The lawmakers, however, accused the minister of lopsidedness in the composition of the committee’s membership, which resulted in a rowdy session

NDE Director-General NasiruLadan mentioned that he was only aware of the selection of 8 members of the selection committee, adding that he had no knowledge of how the minister arrived at the remaining 12 members.