Wed, Jan

PIB: National Assembly Sets Up Harmonization Committee

Top Stories

The Nigeria Senate has announced a seven-member committee to harmonize different versions of the Petroleum Industry Bill passed by both chambers of the National Assembly last week. The Senate President Ahmed Lawan announced the composition of the committee at the plenary session on Tuesday, which will be chaired by Senate majority leader, Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North), other members of the committee include Mohammed Sabo (Jigawa North East), Albert Bassey Akpan (Akwa Ibom), Danjuma Goje, Opeyemi Bamidele(Ekiti Central), Stella Oduah (Anambra North), and Gabriel Suswam (Benue North East).

Lawan has directed that committee members commence sitting immediately so that the action could be executed early.

“The conference committee will meet with our counterparts in the House, the House will also announce the composition of the conference committee, and we hope that they will swing into action immediately so that we are able to have the final document of the PIB which we will transmit for the presidential assent,” he said.

“So, we expect our delegation here under the leadership of the Senate Leader to engage with our colleagues in the House of Representatives.”