Exclusive Reports

Thu, Nov

Senate Confirms Appointment Of 6 INEC National Commissioners, 1 REC

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed seven nominees appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari as National Commissioners and Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The nominees were confirmed following the consideration of a report by the Senate Committee on INEC.

Those confirmed as National Commissioners include Mal. Mohammed Haruna (Niger State; North-Central), Maj. Gen. A.B. Alkali (Rtd) (Adamawa State; North-East), Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta State; South-South), and Prof. Rhoda H. Gumus (Bayelsa State; South-South).

Others were Ukeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia State; South-East), Mr. Sam Olumekun (Ondo State; South-West) while the newly appointed REC is Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo State).

However, controversy trailed the appointment of Prof. Rhoda H. Gumus as a National Commissioner of the commission because of allegations that she is a card-carrying member of the ruling party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Some groups including the Human Rights Writers Association of Nigeria (HURIWA) forwarded a petition to the National Assembly appealing against her appointment.