Just In: Senate Confirms Ex Service Chiefs As Non-career Ambassadors


The Nigerian Senate has on Tuesday confirmed former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Naval Air Staff, Abubakar Sadique; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Ibok-Ete Ibas as non-career ambassadors. Also, Mohammed S Usman, former intelligence Chief was confirmed.

The confirmation comes days after President Muhammadu Buhari sent their names to the Senate for confirmation as non-career ambassadors.

However, some Nigerians have expressed dismay over the appointment on the grounds that the former service chiefs failed to end the insurgency in the Northeast as well as other security challenges across the country