Sun, Mar

Naira Redesign Policy: 13 Political Parties Vow To Boycott Upcoming Elections

13 out of the 18 political parties in the country have reportedly threatened to boycott the upcoming February 25 and March 11 elections over the naira redesign policy of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). This was made known on Monday by Kenneth Udeze, the national chairman of the Action Alliance (AA) at a press conference by the Forum of Chairmen of Nigerian Political Parties and the Forum of Candidates for the 2023 General Election where he also commended President Muhammadu Buhari on the redesign of the 200, 500 and 1,000 naira denominations.

Taraba APC Sacks Chairman Over Anti-Party Activities

The All Progressives Congress (APC) sacked the Chairman of its Taraba State chapter, Ibrahim El-Sudi, over alleged persistent engagement in activities considered inimical to the party’s progress. The APC party’s zonal Chairman South, Hon Dauda Ayuba Dakinjo while briefing journalists in Jalingo, on Saturday, commented that the sack was as a result of El-Sudi’s continued moves to fan the embers of discord and rancor to the detriment of the progress of the party in the state. According to Dakinjo, since he became the state chairman of the party, El-Sudi makes all the decisions by himself or together with some of his stooges through whom he implements them.

2023 Poll: NBC Advises Against Hate Speech, Divisive Remarks

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has advised media stations covering the forthcoming general elections against hate speech and divisive remarks capable of inciting the polity during this sensitive period. This advisory was contained in a statement issued by NBC, Director-General (DG), Balarabe Illelah, adding that broadcasters should not allow politicians to use their platforms to promote content capable of leading to a breakdown of law and order.

2023 Poll: NNPC Assures INEC Of Adequate Fuel Supply

The Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited has assured that there would be an adequate supply of fuel for the upcoming elections, following concerns raised by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) over the lack of fuel. The assurance was made on Tuesday by Mele Kyari, NNPC’s Group Chief Executive Officer during the Commission’s visit to NNPC Towers led by its Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, adding that NNPC has always supported INEC

Broadcast Code Violation: NBC Fines TVC, Arise TV N2Mn

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has fined the owners of Television Continental (TVC) N2 million for airing hate speech and inflammatory remarks which is in contradiction with sections of the Nigerian Broadcasting Code. The Commission also fined Arise TV for broadcasting the presidential campaign of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which was held in Delta State, where Dino Melaye mocked the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Supreme Court Sacks Bwacha As Taraba APC Governorship Candidate

The Supreme Court has nullified the nomination of Emmanuel Bwacha as the governorship candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Taraba State on 1st February 2023. The judgment in a five-man panel led by Kudirat Kekere Ekun stated that affirmed the verdict of the federal high court which held that the APC did not conduct any valid governorship primary in Taraba State that produced Bwacha as governorship candidate. A judge at the federal high court in Jalingo, Taraba state, Simon Amobeda had first sacked Bwacha as the APC’s governorship candidate in September 2022 in a suit filed by David Sabo Kente, a governorship aspirant.

Fuel Scarcity May Affect Movement Of Election Logistics - INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has expressed concerns about the continued scarcity of fuel across the country, saying the development could hamper election day logistics. This is coming less than 25 days to the general election. The INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu, made this known in a meeting with National Union of Road Transport Workers in Abuja on Tuesday. Yakubu said the commission would be meeting with the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, to resolve any issues that might affect logistics delivery and personnel movement on election day.

More Articles ...