Major Shakeup Hits MTN Nigeria

Personal Tech

Giant Nigeria Communications Company, MTN on Thursday announced a shakeup in its managerial position. In a statement by the Telecommunication company Secretary, Uto Ukpanah, Dr Dozie is retiring alongside five other Non-Executive Directors of its Board with effect from 2nd September 2019. Others are, Col. Sani Bello (Rtd), the Vice-Chairman; Chief Victor Odili, OON, Non-Executive Director; Mallam Ahmed Dasuki, Non-Executive Director; Mr Babatunde Folawiyo, Non-Executive Director; and Mr Gbenga Oyebode, MFR, Non-Executive Director.


It was further established that former Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Communications Commission, (NCC), Dr Ernest Ndukwe would replace the company’s outgoing chairman, Dr Pascal Dozie.

While acknowledging the vital contribution made by the outgoing Directors over the last 18 years, MTN Nigeria CEO Ferdinand Moolman said: “On behalf of MTN Nigeria, I would like to offer our heartfelt thanks to our pioneering Chairman, Pascal Dozie and the outgoing Directors.

“Our journey over the last 18 years has been incredible, and it would not have been possible without the initial entrepreneurial spirit of our founding directors, and their unfailing and dedicated support for MTN Nigeria’s vision over the years.

I could not have asked for a more supportive, knowledgeable and experienced group of advisors.”

Speaking on behalf of the outgoing Directors Dr Pascal Dozie noted that in 2001 when he made the first call on MTN Nigeria network, he didn't think anyone envisaged the pace and scale of growth that the company would achieve over the next 18 years.

It is a unique story that we are immensely proud of.

“Having served as Chairman of MTN Nigeria for all of those 18 years, I achieved a long-held ambition earlier this year, when MTN Nigeria listed on the Nigerian Stock Exchange, providing an opportunity for a wider pool of Nigerians to become investors in the company.

“I cannot think of a better time to be handing over the reins of the company to a new Chairman, and to a new group of distinguished Nigerian Directors.

Similarly, Dozie announced the appointment of Dr Ernest Ndukwe as the Chairman Designate of MTN and the following directors with effect from 2nd September 2019.

They are Mr Michael Onochie Ajukwu - Independent Non-Executive Director; Mr Muhammad K. Ahmad, OON - Independent Non-Executive Director; Mr Andrew Ali - Non-Executive Director; Mrs Omobola Johnson - Non-Executive Director; Mr A.B. Mahmoud, SAN (OON) - Non-Executive Director; and Mrs Ifueko Okauru, MFR - Non-Executive Director.