Exclusive Reports

Sun, May

Tinubu Appoints New Boards For SEC, NAICOM

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of several Nigerian professionals to the Board of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The announcement was made in a statement issued by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity. Mr. Mairiga Aliyu Katuka has been appointed as the Chairman of the board of SEC, while Mr. Emomotimi Agama has been appointed as the Director-General of the board.

Members of the SEC board are:

(1) Mr. Mairiga Aliyu Katuka — Chairman

(2) Mr. Emomotimi Agama — Director-General

(3) Frana Chukwuogor — Executive Commissioner (Legal and Enforcement)

(4) Mr. Bola Ajomale — Executive Commissioner (Operations)

(5) Mrs. Samiya Hassan Usman — Executive Commissioner (Corporate Services)

(6) Mr. Lekan Belo — Non-Executive Commissioner

(7) Mr. Kasimu Garba Kurfi — Non-Executive Commissioner


While that of NAICOM, membership of the board includes:

(1) Ms. Halima Kyari — Chairperson

(2) Mr. Olusegun Ayo Omosehin — Commissioner for Insurance

(3) Mr. Olawoye Gam-Ikon — Deputy Commissioner (Technical Operations)

(4) Dr. Usman Ankara Jimada — Deputy Commissioner (Finance & Administration)

(5) Dr. Miriam Kene Kachikwu — Member

(6) Mr. Adeniyi Olusegun Fabikun — Member

(7) Mr. Umar Khalifa Mohammed — Member

"Every member of the Board of this crucial commission will apply their extensive experience and expertise to further the commission's fundamental goal of creating and overseeing a capital market that is vibrant, equitable, open, and effective, to enhance investor confidence and make a substantial contribution to the economic growth of the country," Tinubu stated.