Sat, Sep

INEC Expresses Concerns Over Forthcoming Governorship Elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has expressed concerns about the growing level of violence and insecurity, adding that it can scare off potential voters. This was made known by Mohammed Kudu Haruna, INEC National Commissioner and member Information and Voter Education Committee during a one-day workshop organized by the Commission for media executives in Owerri, Imo State.

INEC Announces Dates For Edo, Ondo Governorship Elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that the Edo State governorship election will be held on September 21, 2024, while that of Ondo State is scheduled for November 16, 2024. This was disclosed on Tuesday in a statement signed by Sam Olumekun, the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee.

Fire Guts Parts Of Supreme Court

According to reports, a fire started around 6 am from Chamber 5 on the fourth floor of the Supreme Court building located at the Three-Arm-Zone, Abuja. Anonymous sources disclosed that the fire engulfed Chamber 5, occupied by Justice Mohammed Saulawa and also affected 2 adjacent offices but the cause of the fire outbreak has not yet being ascertained.

CCECC Vows To Complete Abuja Light Rail In 8 Months

The Chinese construction giant, China Civil Engineering Construction Corporation Ltd, CCECC, on Wednesday, revealed it is committed to completing the Abuja light rail project within eight months. This is in line with the determination of President Bola Tinubu's administration to enhance infrastructure development across the country. The Vice President, Senator Kashim Shettima, extracted this commitment from the management of CCECC when its Chairman, Mr. Jason Zhang, led some members of his management team on a courtesy call at the Presidential Villa today.

Mock Accreditation: INEC Fixes Date Ahead Of Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi Polls

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed Saturday, 14 October, 2023 to conduct a mock accreditation for the upcoming governorship elections in Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi states which has been scheduled for Saturday, 11 November 2023.

Nyesom Wike Revokes 165 Lands In Abuja

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike has revoked 165 lands in Abuja, some of which belong to notable Nigerians. A document signed by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Olushade Adeshola, reveals that the revocation was due to the violation and contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy. The document reads, "The Federal Capital Territory Administration hereby informs the general public that the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, has in the exercise of the powers conferred on him under Section 28(5) (a) & (b) of the Land Use Act 1978, revoked the under listed plots with names and titles as reflected in our records for continued contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy to wit non-development."

No Plot To Impeach Akpabio, Says Special Adviser

Eseme Eyiboh, the Special Adviser on Media to the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio refuted reports in circulation alleging some senators were working to impeach Akpabio, adding that the alleged plot is “complete imagination”.

More Articles ...