Sun, Sep

OSCARS 2024: Stephanie Linus Appointed NOSC Chair


The Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the best International Feature Film (IFF) category of the Oscars has announced legendary actress and filmmaker, Stephanie Linus as the new Chairperson.

This development follows the approved formation of a new structured 14-member NOSC team and the exit of its founder/ Chairperson, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) said.

The reconstituted members of the NOSC also include the Managing Director of the Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC), Dr. Chidia Maduekwe; the President of the Directors’ Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Dr. Victor Okhai; veteran actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde; former President of DGN, Andy Amenechi; theater practitioner, Yibo Koko and writer/director, Izu Ojukwu, amongst others.

As the 96th Academy Awards approaches in the upcoming year, the newly formed NOSC team will be tasked with collecting, screening, and voting on entries to represent Nigeria in the IFF category.

The list of its new members, according to the NOSC, brings people of diverse creative portfolios into the dynamics of selecting the best film from Nigeria.

The IFF (formerly Best Foreign Language) Award is presented annually by the Academy to a feature-length film produced outside the United States that contains 50 percent or more non-English dialogue.

It is instructive to note that the Academy requires that submitted films must meet other criteria, including accurate English subtitles, shooting formats, and theatrical releases details of which are available on the NOSC website.