Exclusive Reports

Thu, Feb

26 States Prepares For Bye-Elections

Top News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

In the build-up to the bye-elections scheduled to take place tomorrow, Saturday, 3 February 2024, the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Olukayode Egbetokun has ordered for the restriction of all types of vehicular movement on roads, waterways etc from 12 am to 6 pm on the election day. Excluded from this restriction are those on essential duties such of officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), election observers, accredited journalists, security personnel on election duty, amongst a few others.

This was made known in a statement issued on Thursday by the Force Public Relations Officer, Olumuyiwa Adejobi.

The statement also said, “The movement restrictions, including the ban on VIP aides, escorts and state security outfits, are crucial measures aimed at preventing any undue interference or intimidation during the electoral process. The IG emphasizes that these restrictions are implemented to safeguard the integrity of the elections and guarantee equal participation for all citizens of the affected states.

“The IG urges political parties, candidates and their supporters to conduct themselves responsibly and in accordance with the electoral laws, as any attempt to disrupt the electoral process or violate the established guidelines will be met with the full force of the law.”

The 26 states scheduled for the bye-elections are Ebonyi, Yobe, Lagos, Ondo, Taraba, Borno, Kaduna, Benue, Akwa Ibom and Plateau.

Others are Zamfara, Sokoto, Anambra, Delta, Cross River, Delta, Jigawa, Katsina, Enugu, Bauchi, Adamawa, Bayelsa, Kano, Niger and Nasarawa.