Federal Government Inaugurates Committees Towards Job Creation Scheme To Cover All LGAs


The Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo on behalf of the Federal Government has constituted special committees to conduct an extended public works programme. The committees will be responsible for identifying projects to be executed in state and members will be persons that are not holding any political position.

The program, scheduled to kick start by October 1, was initiated by President Muhammadu Buhari. Media report indicates that on April 6, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning Zainab Ahmed, announced the approval of President Buhari for the establishment of a scheme to run in all 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory from October to December 2020.

The programme, described as the Federal government's special public works, which is perceived as a means of mitigating the effects of the coronavirus programme will see about one thousand persons being employed each from the 774 local government areas under the scheme.

A rest run of the programme was implemented in five local governments covering 8 states; Adamawa, Borno, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Jigawa, Katsina and Kwara states. The extended phase of the scheme, which will provide a thorough selection of persons with menial and artisan skills from different local areas, will also see beneficiaries receiving monthly stipends of 20,000 Naira.