President Buhari Appoints EFCC Secretary, Names Board Members


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed George Abang Ekpungu as the new Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC). Ekpungu’s appointment is for a new tenure of five years if confirmed by the Senate.

Ekpungu, who is a former employee of EFCC, served as Commissioner for New Cities Development in Cross River State under Governor Ben Ayade from 2015 to 2018.

Section 8(2) of the EFCC Act states that “the secretary shall be the head of the secretariat of the commission; responsible for the administration of the secretariat and the keeping of the books and records of the commission.”

Also appointed as Board Members of the anti-graft agency are Anumba Adaeze (South-East), Luqman Muhammad (South-South),Kola Raheem Adesina (North-Central), and Yahaya Muhammad (North-East).

EFCC has been operating without board members since 2015 and their appointment is in line with Section 2 (1) and Section 4 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Act, 2004.

President Buhari has also directed that the appointees’ names be forwarded to the Senate for confirmation.