Exclusive Reports

Thu, Nov

Ocheni, Hassan

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo will today swear-in two ministers who were approved by the Senate in May. To be sworn in are Prof. Stephen Ocheni from Kogi and Mr Suleiman Hassan from Gombe State.


Both men would take the oath before the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

SSA Media to the Acting President, Laolu Akande, confirmed the swearing-in in a tweet Tuesday night.

The nominees were confirmed on 3 May after screening by senators at plenary.

The confirmation of the nominees followed a request by President Muhammdu Buhari in accordance with Section147 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Buhari had forwarded the names of the ministerial nominees to the Senate as replacements for late Mr James Ocholi (Kogi) and Mrs Amina Mohammed (Gombe).

Ocholi, who was Minister of State for Employment, Labour and Productivity, died in an auto crash in 2016.

Mohammed, Minister of Environment, stepped down to take up the post of Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.