Exclusive Reports

Thu, Feb

President Buhari Nominates Lauretta Onochie As NDDC Board Chairperson

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

President Muhammdu Buhari has forwarded the name of Lauretta Onochie as the substantive chairperson of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NNDC). The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, on Wednesday, at the plenary read the nomination letter sent to the senate by the president naming 14 others as members of the board. Mr. President has in recent past nominated Onochie as a commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in October 2020. Her nomination however sparked outrage over concerns that she is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), but responding a presidential aide said she resigned her membership of the ruling party in 2019.

Here is the list of the nominees:

NDDC Board Nominees

Below are some of the new nominees for the NDDC board:

1. Chairman – Laureta Ifeanyi Onochie (Delta, South-South)
2. Dimgba Erugba State representative (Abia, South-East)
3. Dr Ene Wilcox (Akwa Ibom, State Representative, South-South)
4. Dr Pius Odudu (Edo, South-South)
5. Hon.Gbenga Odegba (Ondo, South-West)
6. Engr. Anthony Ekene (Imo, South-East)
7. Onyekachi Dimgba (Rivers, South-South)
8. Alhaji Mohammed Kabiru Abubakar (Zonal Representative, Nasarawa)
9. Professor Tallen Mamma, SAN (North-East Representative, Adamawa)
10. Sodique Sani (North-West, Zonal Representative)
11. Chief Dr. Samuel Ibukun (MD)
12. General Charles Ehigie Airhiavbere (Rtd) (Executive of Finance)
13. Charles Ogunmola (Executive Director Project, South-West)